A Confession and a Challenge

A Confession: I’ve been really bad about using the contents of my CSA box lately. I only get one every two weeks and every two weeks there’s been something that I’ve failed to use and that has spoiled. This week it was about a half pound of green beans, a half a bunch of spinach, and some parsley. I hate throwing food away. I’m well aware of the abundance of food available to me, and that the quality of that food is excellent, and that there are many in the world who just don’t have access to what they need to nourish themselves. It pains me when I just end up tossing something in the compost.

A Challenge: I’m challenging myself to use the entire box I just got during the remainder of Vegan MoFo, which ends (!!!) next week (yikes!).

What I got:

  • 1 head romanesco
  • 2 pomegranates
  • 1 bunch spinach
  • 1 bunch radishes
  • 1 bunch beets
  • 1 bunch swiss chard
  • 1.5 lb baby bok choy
  • 1 bunch carrots
  • 1 lb baby mixed lettuce
  • 1 acorn squash

I’ll see what I can come up with.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Confession and a Challenge

  1. Draw faces on everything and line them up in battle formation. To the death!

  2. celyn says:

    * 1 bunch spinach
    * 1 bunch swiss chard
    * 1.5 lb baby bok choy
    * 1 bunch carrots
    * 1 acorn squash

    I could see this becoming a sort of autumn hot and sour soup. Maybe I am crazy.

  3. JohnP says:

    I have this problem too – and will be watching for ideas!

  4. Luciana says:

    I have this exact same problem. It’s especially frustrating when it’s food I know I love. You could always make some amazingly colorful salads!

Leave a Reply

