FINAL MoFo POST: FUSSY SALAD

I tend to view the fussy salad with suspicion. By fussy I mean it’s a salad that requires a significant amount of preparation – a special dressing, roasted things, etc. For the most part, when I want a salad I just want to haphazardly chop as many veggies as possible, throw them all in a bowl with some greens and drizzle some olive oil and vinegar over the top – that’s it. I think I’ve made a “real” salad dressing fewer than 5 times in my life, and a majority of those times was during recipe testing for a cookbook.

But here’s a fussy salad that took another big chunk out of last weeks CSA box and takes my MoFo effort full circle and back to the beet:

Roasted Beet Salad with Pomegranate seeds and Satsuma Vinaigrette

I started with cubing and roasting 4 small beets for 40 minutes in an oven preheated to 400F.

While the beets were roasting I halved and seeded one pomegranate. It yielded about a half cup of seeds.

For the dressing I squeezed 1 cup of juice from some Satsuma Mandarins (7 Mandarins) then simmered the juice in a small saucepan until the liquid reduced to a few tablespoons and became syrupy. This technique was in Bryant Terry’s Vegan Soul Kitchen though he used grapefruit. When done, I let the thickened juice cool before adding it to a blender with 1/4 cup olive oil, 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar, one clove of garlic, pressed, and a generous pinch of sea salt and blending well.

I then added half of the beets, 1/4 cup pomegranate seeds, and a half cup of cooked quinoa (because this is my dinner people) to 3 cups (packed) of mixed baby greens, and tossed with roughly half of the dressing.

Fussy, but tasty, and full of what’s abundant here this time of year.

Fussy Fall Salad

FUSSTASTIC!

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to FINAL MoFo POST: FUSSY SALAD

  1. Fusstastic. I hope you continue to post now that mofo is over.

  2. JohnP says:

    Yes, I expect more fussy and glamorous posting.

  3. Mo says:

    That salad looks dynamite!

  4. You are all too kind. There are at least a couple of food related things I wanted to post but couldn’t get to, so I will probably continue after a little break.

Leave a Reply

