In Praise of the Stir-Fry

When life gets hectic and there’s no money for takeout and I feel like I’m going to spin off the Earth, the stir fry is my gravity. Some nights I can’t be asked to do much more than chop up a generous amount of garlic and maybe some shallots and throw some vegetables into the wok for a few minutes.

Last night was one of those nights. I had no desire to shop after a day at work and train delays getting home. Apparently, a local team of gladiators were rewarded with a parade for slaying their enemies, and the train that connects the local villages to my metropolis was slow going. The crisper saved me with bok choy that I hadn’t decided what to do with, oh, and that half package of rice noodles and some tofu. I fried the tofu and bok choy with shallots and garlic, splashed with tamari, mirin, and chili oil, added the noodles and bam! Dinner in under 30 minutes. With a beer it was the perfect humpday solution to a growling stomach and a stressed psyche.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In Praise of the Stir-Fry

  1. I just hate it when the local gladiators are taking up too much of the train.

  2. Melissa says:

    Impressive! I’m so helpless in the kitchen…if I don’t have a recipe then I just stand there confused for awhile. Then I order take-out.

  3. mihl says:

    Sounds perfect!

  4. kittee says:

    i love the idea of eating stir fry with rice noodles instead of rice. did you fry the noodles in, or just eat on top of ’em?

    xo
    kittee

  5. ameyfm says:

    ha! i love your description of the giants’ parade. it looked like some kind of madhouse. I am so impressed by you free-spirited-innovating-in-the-kitchen types. I am all about the recipe.

Leave a Reply

