SATURDAY WAKE AND CAKE

For those of us whose Monday-through-Friday-with-a-long-commute work schedule impedes our love of cooking, the weekends are where the real action takes place in the kitchen. So why waste them? I love starting Saturday mornings off with an actual cooked breakfast that I can prepare while puttering around, drinking tea, checking the internet and reading a book or two. And of course, a classic, simple breakfast are those amazing carb bombs, pancakes. I can, and frequently do, finish off an entire batch of Vegan with a Vengeance pancakes on a typical weekend morning.

CakeandBake_cakes

This morning they were accompanied by a nice big mug of Lapsang Souchong tea. Lapsang Souchong tea is, according to some, a tea that drinks like a meal. This is especially true if your idea of a meal is a porridge of old campfire logs or three fingers of Scotch. That is to say, it’s very smoky. Lapsang also takes milk well (I like almond).

CakeandBake_tea

I’d love to have a helpful feline to make pancakes for me every morning, but if this is how I have to make do, I can live with that.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SATURDAY WAKE AND CAKE

  1. funkyryan says:

    I have heard lapsang described as a “manly tea”. My husband likes some on Saturdays, too! (I can’t handle it.)

  2. You are a macho pineapple after my own heart. Lapsang! Pancakery!
    Some fine morning you will wake up to Mr. B in your kitchen puttering about and flippin’ some pancakes for you.

  3. juliecathryn says:

    Lapsang Souchong is my favorite. Excellent taste.

  4. Jojo says:

    I could eat some of those pancakes right now.

  5. Mo says:

    Aww yeah! Those pancakes are amazing!

Leave a Reply

