A Silken Gamble

Silken tofu doesn’t normally equate with deliciousness. Yes, those mori-nu boxes are convenient for thickening or as an egg replacer, but the tofu is able to work only because it is hidden. I’ve heard horror stories of clueless and/or vindictive chefs and caterers serving unadorned silken tofu to vegan wedding guests. Yuck!

So I was intrigued when I saw this at the store:

IMG_0890

Hodo Soy Beanery is a purveyor of some of the best tofu in the bay area. They sell at farmers markets and natural food stores and their tofu is always fresh and tasty – I’m also a huge fan of their yuba skin. I wasn’t exactly sure what the texture of their silken tofu would be like but knew it would be much better than the stuff in those aseptic boxes. I dreamed of creating something akin to the soft style of scrambled eggs.

I started with sauteeing some garlic and onion, adding mushrooms, and then raiding the crisper to find some fresh thyme that really needed using up, as well as some spinach from this weeks CSA delivery and a little bit of parsley. So with herbs, freshly ground pepper, and a generous pinch of salt, I was getting some nice Sunday morning smells in the kitchen. I added the tofu.

Well, it wasn’t quite what I expected and there was suddenly a lot of liquid in the pan. In fact it seemed like more liquid was coming out of the tofu as it cooked. Undeterred, I rolled with it, turned the heat up a little, and decided to let the tofu and veggies simmer, hoping that the liquid would evaporate.

Thankfully, after about 20 minutes, during which I made and drank a hefty amount of coffee and a batch of homefries, much of the liquid had evaporated. I have to say, it was really one of the best tofu scrambles I’ve had. I was left with soft curds that soaked up much of the flavor of the onions and herbs and had none of the offensive off tastes that plague lesser tofus. To soak up some of the remaining liquid I toasted some two day old bread and spooned the curds over the bread slices. I would definitely do this again.

SILKY

Fresh Silken Tofu Scramble with Homefries

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Silken Gamble

  1. Fresh silken tofu is really good. I used to get it form a dude who sold out of a pot on the street in Chinatown. You could eat it straight from the container. I miss that guy.
    I wonder if tofu scramble like this would make me like scramble.

  2. JohnP says:

    Intriguing. I must lurk around some of our Asian markets to see if anyone is making this locally. Thanks!

  3. mel says:

    I love Hodo!! I like adding a cornstarch/milk slurry to my tofu that gives it a stickiness reminiscent of soft scrambled eggs.

  4. Never heard of that tofu before, glad you were able to make something delicious from it!

  5. Jojo says:

    That looks great, I tried some agadashi tofu when I was in Edinburgh earlier this month & I bet this tofu would be delicious served like that – breaded & fried in a ginger & soy broth.

  6. organarchy says:

    We used to get fresh made tofu from an Asian food mart in Sacramento. Really good stuff. Yours looks delicious!

    Happy MoFo’ing!

  7. celyn says:

    Wow. That looks and sounds amazingly delicious, the whole plate. What do you do with the yuba? I have some dried and want to do something wonderful with it.

  8. Mihl says:

    I came hear to tell you a horror story about how I once fried silken tofu and it turned into a disaster. Instead I now leave with great tips on how tp really fry it. Thank you!

  9. amey says:

    wow! Hodo comes to our Wednesday farmers market… I hope they’ll start carrying this. I’d love to try it.

Leave a Reply

