Butternut in my Curry And I Am In a Hurry

During the fall and winter I get so many butternut squashes from my CSA that it’s a struggle to use them all. Which put me in the habit of throwing them into curries with a lot of those other winter veggies. It’s not unusual or anything; pumpkin curries appear on numerous menus at Thai restaurants. So this was another, holy crap, it’s a week night I’m exhausted and still have errands to run kind of thing. And because of that, it ended up being really hastily assembled, which isn’t really a bad thing at all. I’d love to throw down and make a curry paste from scratch some day, but until then the yellow curry from Mae Ploy will be one of my standbies.

The ingredients are:

  • about one half of a small-medium size butternut squash, peeled, seeded and diced. I’d say it was about 2 cups.
  • one large onion, chopped
  • a couple of fistfuls of green beans, ends removed and cut in half
  • one package tofu, cubed
  • 2 TBS Thai curry
  • additonal ginger
  • Thai Basil
  • Lime Juice
  • 1 can coconut milk

The method is pretty simple. Start with sauteing the onions until brown in a heavy bottomed pot with a lid. Add the ginger and stir until fragrant. Add the remaining veggies and the tofu (you can also brown the tofu first and set aside – I like to do this when I’m not feeling rushed) and cook a few more minutes. Add the coconut milk and the curry paste. Stir until the paste is dissolved and bring the curry to a boil. Lower the heat to very low, cover, and let simmer about 25-30 minutes, until the squash is tender. Remove from heat, add some torn up basil leaves and some fresh lime juice and let sit with the cover slightly removed about 10 minutes or until you’re back from picking up your laundry and some beer.

Serve with brown rice and top with a little more basil if desired. It doesn’t hurt to squeeze some more lime juice on top either.

Butternut and Tofu Curry

 
Update: I also added some mushrooms that were languishing in the crisper. Forgot about those.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Butternut in my Curry And I Am In a Hurry

  1. I like the fact that you garnish even when in a hurry.

  2. JohnP says:

    And I like the fact that you just happen to have Thai basil on hand for a lovely impromptu meal!

  3. Well, I confess that I stopped off at the store on the way home to get the basil, but everything else was already in the fridge.

  4. Megan says:

    OOOOOH this will be dinner sometime next week!

  5. amey says:

    that sounds great. I think butternut squash is one of the world’s greatest foods. Have you tried just cutting it into slices (or cubes) and roasting it? It’s crazy good.

  6. kittee says:

    check out the raw butternut squash salad in the NYT this week, it’s from mark bittman and even though it looks like a bowl of grated cheddar cheese, it’s really good!

    http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/11/17/mark-bittmans-sustainable-thanksgiving/

    use dry cranberries and agave…

    xo
    kittee

  7. Mo says:

    That looks divine!

Leave a Reply

